General Synod

The General Synod, which comprises a House of Bishops, a House of Clergy and a House of Laity, with representatives from all English dioceses, meets two to three times a year to consider legislation for the Church of England, along with worship and matters of national and international importance. Find out more here

Elections for the new quinquennium (5 year period of representation) for General Synod were held in October 2021.

Our Proctors in Convocation are:

  • Revd Rachel Webbley, Team Rector of Whitstable Team Ministry
  • The Ven Darren Miller, Archdeacon of Ashford
  • Rev Canon Barney de Berry, Vicar St Mary Bredin (SMB), Canterbury

The result of the votes for the Proctors in Convocation can be read in full here or you can download the table here.

Our members for the House of Laity are:

  • Catherine Richardson
  • David Kemp
  • Neil Logan Green

The process for the election of one (1) member of the House of Laity to fill a casual vacancy and to represent the Diocese in the General Synod (2021-2026) has concluded and the elected candidate is Catherine Richardson.  Results here


The result of the 2021 votes for the House of Laity can be read in full here or you can download the table here.



Page last updated: Thursday 28th March 2024 10:39 AM
Privacy Notice | Powered by Church Edit