New College of Honorary Canons of Canterbury Cathedral installed

First published on: 24th November 2023

A new College of Honorary Canons of Canterbury Cathedral was installed on Sunday 19 November during the Evensong service. 

The College of Canons is made up of lay and ordained people from across our diocese who serve in a variety of roles and are recognised for the distinct contribution they make. 

In making these appointments Bishop Rose said: "I am delighted that we are able to recognise the diverse contribution that many people make to the vibrant life of our diocese as we all work together to share the gospel message of knowing Jesus at work in our lives and communities." 

Dean David added: "All cathedrals are formally becoming charities with new systems and bodies. Our new College of Honorary Canons is made up of lay and ordained ministries in equal numbers. I welcome these new Canons as we strengthen our common bonds of fellowship and advocacy across the Diocese." 

The most high-profile function of the College of Canons is to formally elect a new Bishop (Archbishop) when one is nominated. Under the new Constitution and Statutes of Canterbury Cathedral the College of Canons receives the annual report and accounts of the Cathedral’s Chapter. Members of the College are ambassadors, advisers and supporters of the Cathedral, helping to build connections and disseminate information across our diocese. 

Diocesan Environment Officer Joyce Addison was made an Honorary Canon on Sunday. 

Talking after the service, she said: “I consider Canterbury Cathedral as my spiritual home and so it was such a privilege and joy to be installed there as canon. It was also lovely to share the moment with my family and church community."

One of those installed as Honorary Lay Canon was Amanda Boucherat, Co-Chair of the Mission and Ministry Framework. 

Talking about the installation, Amanda said: "I have been humbled and honoured to be invited to be installed as an Honorary Lay Canon of Canterbury Cathedral.  This was totally unexpected, but of course an absolute delight. Not only have people been willing to put their trust in me to take on various roles they have joined in the journey. This honour truly is a reflection on all those who have put their trust in me and joined me on that journey."

There are a total of 12 Honorary Canons:

The Revd Joyce Addison 

Priest-in-Charge St Martin’s, Maidstone; Diocesan Environment Officer 

The Revd Lorraine Apps-Huggins 

Chaplain to The Living Well, Bishop's Advisor in Healing & Wholeness 

The Revd Barney de Berry* 

Vicar St Mary Bredin, Canterbury; General Synod 

The Revd Steve Coneys* 

Diocesan Mission and Growth Adviser 

The Revd Seth Cooper* 

Rector Walmer and Cornilo Benefice 

The Revd Rodney Dreyer 

Vicar St Laurence with All Saints, Hawkhurst 

The Revd Patrick Ellisdon* 

Priest-in-Charge All Saints, Canterbury 

The Revd Lindsay Hammond* 

Team Rector Tenterden, Rother and Oxney Benefice 

The Revd Arthur Houston* 

Priest-in-Charge St Faith’s, Maidstone 

The Revd Estella Last 

Vicar Bridge Benefice; Bishop’s Adviser for Women’s Ministry; Archbishop’s Council 

The Revd Philip Musindi 

Vicar St Andrew’s, Reading Street; Area Dean Thanet 

The Revd Jo Richards 

Rector St Dunstan, St Mildred & St Peter, Canterbury; Area Dean Canterbury 


In addition to this there are 12 Honorary Lay Canons: 

Amanda Boucherat  

Co-Chair Mission and Ministry Framework 

Sir Paul Britton 

Chair Diocesan Advisory Committee 

Dr Neville Emslie* 

Director of Mission and Ministry 

Diane Enfield  

Former Lay Chair Maidstone 

Miranda Ford  

Chair House of Laity; Lay Chair Ospringe Deanery; Archbishop’s Council 

Shirley Leslie 

Treasurer Ashford Deanery, Ashford Town Parish 

Jude Lowson 

Head of King’s School, Canterbury 

Naomi Lumutenga 

Adviser to the Anglican Observer, United Nations; Diocesan Link Representative CMEAC (Committee for Minority Ethnic Anglican Concerns) 

John Morrison 

Reader; Archbishop’s Council; Chaplain to Sea Cadets, East Kent District 

Ian Rich 

Chaplain to John Wallis Church of England Academy 

Dr Quentin Roper*  

Diocesan Director of Education 

David Slater 

Chaplain to the Port of Dover and Channel Tunnel 



The following were also made Canon Emeriti: 

The Revd Canon John Corbyn 


The Revd Canon Steve Lillicrap 


The Revd Canon Mark Roberts 


Canon David Kemp  



Page last updated: Tuesday 16th April 2024 10:26 AM
Privacy Notice | Powered by Church Edit